Leslie Kaufman

Account Director

BIO:
An accomplished, detail-oriented communications professional, Leslie is recognized as a strategic thinker, creative problem solver and outstanding writer. Her experience developing innovative communications strategy and executing successful media relations programs and events have led to numerous awards and accolades for her work within the consumer packaged goods, retail, food/nutrition, health/wellness, fashion/beauty, pharmaceutical, not-for-profit industries, and now cannabis.


Q&A with Leslie Kaufman

What is your favorite part of working in PR?
I love working in an agency environment. I’m always learning something new and there’s something so exhilarating about working with a variety of clients across a wide array of industries.

What do you when you are facing a creative block? 
I like to get outside and be active when facing a creative block. I either go for a hike or walk to the beach. I also like to start my day at the gym for some yoga or a spin class to stay active and keep the juices flowing.

How long have you been working in PR?
I’ve been working in PR for more than 25+ years now, and loving every minute.

One piece of advice you would offer to someone trying to enter the PR industry?
My main advice would be to get as much experience as possible. Get involved, connect with as many PR folks as possible, and strive to find a fabulous mentor who can offer you guidance and advice.

How would you describe working for a large PR Firm compared to one like Akrete?
I’ve really spent most of my time working in small- to medium-sized firms. I like these environments best because I’m able to build strong relationships with my clients and have a unique understanding of what’s going on within the company as a whole. 

What do you like to do in your spare time? Hobbies? etc… 
I love spending my free time with my family. When not at one of my sons’ hockey games, we like to go for bike rides, walks to the botanic garden or the beach, or enjoy a delicious meal together.

What are three interesting facts about you?

  • I’m Canadian. I’m originally from Toronto, relocated to Chicago in 2005, and recently became a US citizen.
  • I have three kids: one daughter who’s in college, and two sons in high school who both play competitive hockey.
  • I’ve had the unique opportunity to work closely with hair icon Vidal Sassoon, astronaut Buzz Aldrin, Charlie’s Angels star Jacklyn Smith, and former NFL greats Charles Peanut Tillman of the Bears and Marques Colston of the New Orleans Saints.
%d bloggers like this: